Lagos Assembly Muslim Community congratulates Obasa on his emergence as the Speaker of the 10th Assembly


The Lagos State House of Assembly Muslim Community has congratulated the Speaker, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa on his emergence as the Speaker of the 10th Assembly of the State House of Assembly.

The Council of Imams also congratulated the returning and new members that were sworn in and enjoined them to put the fear of Allah in all their affairs and focus on their constitutional responsibilities to make enabling laws that will alleviate the suffering of the masses.

Obasa was on Tuesday unanimously elected by 39 members as the new Speaker of the 10th Assembly of the State.

The election of Obasa symbolized a three consecutive terms to lead the State Assembly. He was elected as Speaker in 2015 and re-elected in 2019 and now in 2023.

Also elected in unanimously was the Deputy Speaker, Hon Mojisola Lasbat Meranda from Apapa Constituency I. While Noheem Adams from Eti-Osa Constituency I clinched the Majority Leader seat.

Hon Adedamola Kasunmu from Ikeja Constituency II elected as the Deputy Majority, The Chief Whip was won by Hon Mojeed Fatai from Ibeju-Lekki I and the Deputy Chief Whip went to Hon Setonji David from Badagry Constituency II.

Hon Temitope Adewale representing Ifako-Ijaiye Constituency I nominated Obasa which was seconded by Hon by Hon Sylvester Ogunkelu Epe Constituency II.

Hon Desmond Elliot Surulere I nominated  Lasbat as the Deputy Speaker which was seconded by Hon Tijani Suraju from Ojo Constituency II.

According to a statement signed by organization, “The emergence of Rt.Hon. OBASA as Speaker has demonstrated the importance of legislative experience and competence especially in the legislative business of governance.”

The Imams expressed gratitude to the Almighty Allah for his continuous guidance and protection over the House, the Muslim community, leadership, honourable members, management and staff of the Assembly.

The Council also congratulate the president  and Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces ,Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu GCFR, the State Governor, Mr Babajide-Sanwo- Olu and the deputy Governor, Dr. Kadri Obafemi Hazmat on their successful inauguration on May 29th.

Leave a Response